Wednesday, Aug 12th

Last update:12:46:34 PM GMT

You are here: News Andreas Nygaard wins 15th Vasaloppet China

Andreas Nygaard wins 15th Vasaloppet China

E-mail Print PDF

The 15th edition of Vasaloppet China in Changchun, Jilin, was hotly contested until the final metres. Eight skiers sprinted for the victory after 50 km of classic-style skiing, and Norway's Andreas Nygaard proved to be quickest.


Another beatiful sunny day on the third stage of the 2017 China Tour de Ski. Vasaloppet China, part of Ski Classics, is the biggest stage of the tour, and the celebratory edition had everything one could wish for. Nygaard beat Sweden's Jens Eriksson into second place in a time of 2:11:36. Third place also went to Norway as Stian Hoelgaard. Interestingly, the points leaders in the China Tour de Ski after the sprint stages in Changbai Shan and Deer Valley did not score points today on the marathon stage. Haakon Hjelstuen finished 40th in 4:42, and Zhu Mingliang did not finish.

The women's race was won by Russia's Olga Rocheva, who completed the 50 km ahead of Sweden's Britta Johansson Norgren and Japan's Masako Ishida.

Top results of the 15 th Vasaloppet China (PDF, men & women)