Saturday, Sep 21st

Last update:12:46:34 PM GMT

You are here: News 2014 China Tour de Ski

2014 China Tour de Ski

E-mail Print PDF

After the great success of last year, the 2014 China Tour de Ski has set the bar at the same height with six stages in three different areas of China. The Tour will commence in the North East and continue via Inner Mongolia to the far west of Xinjiang. It all starts on New Year's Day!


New in 2014 will be a sprint stage in Changchun that preceedes the 12th edition of the classic style Vasaloppet China. In fact, the latter marathon race has undergone modifications, too. The loop in Jingyuetan Park has been altered and the total distance reduced from 52.5km to 45km. Athletes better don't celebrate new year's too much in Changchun or they may be up for a tough experience.

Following Vasaloppet China, the ski tour moves on to Xiwuqi in Inner Mongolia for the traditional 5km distance and 1.2km sprint stages at the local ski arena. Finally, the Nalati grassland region in the Kazakh Prefecture in Xinjiang plays host to the final two stages of the China Tour de Ski like last year. Nalati is a magnificent mountainous area and features an exciting ski track to boot.

Information about the participants in the 2014 edition will become available soon. The defending female champion from Sweden Lisa Svensson is determined to defend her title, as is her male counterpart and compatriot Adam Johansson. Vasaloppet China and Yakeshi Summer Ski champion Anders Hoegberg is set to return also, and reportedly even to go for the overall China Tour de Ski title, which he has already secured twice in 2009 and 2012. The upcoming edition therefore promises to be a clash of titans!